Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter in hot soup, to get fired soon


Reports have emerged that Stuart Baxter will be sacked as Bafana Bafana head coach should the national team fail to qualify for the 2019 African Cup of Nations.

South Africa is currently in Group E, trailing Nigeria by one point with two rounds of fixtures remaining.

According to Sport24, Bidvest Wits head coach Gavin Hunt is being widely tipped to take over as Bafana Bafana head coach.

Sources also claim that Baxter and Hunt would swap positions, with Baxter going the other way to assume the role of head coach at the Clever Boys.

Cape Town City head coach Benni McCarthy has also been mentioned as a replacement should Hunt be appointed by Safa.

Three days agio, Baxter named a 23-man squad to play Nigeria in their crucial 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier.

South Africa will welcome the Super Eagles to FNB Stadium on Saturday, November 17 for a Group E clash.

Kick-off is at 15:00.

Baxter's charges convincingly beat the African giants 2-0 in the first-leg at the famous Godswill Akpabio Stadium in June last year courtesy of goals from Tokelo Rantie and Percy Tau.

After four rounds of (of six) matches played, the Super Eagles lead Group E with 9 points, one ahead of South Africa, who have accumulated 8 points from two wins and two draws.

Libya are in third place with 4 points, followed by the Seychelles on 1 point.

The top two sides in the group will progress to next year's AFCON tournament to be held in Cameroon from June 7-30.

Meanwhile, Nigeria have once again left out captain Mikel John Obi for the match after naming their squad last week.


Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Darren Keet (Wits)

Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Thulani Hlatshwayo, S'Fiso Hlanti, Buhle Mkhwanazi (all Wits), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City)

Vincent Pule, Thembinkosi Lorch (all Pirates), Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg), Lebohang Maboe, Hlompho Kekana, Tiyani Mabunda (all Sundowns), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport), Thulani Serero (Vitesse)

Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Percy Tau (Royal Union), Dino Ndlovu (Zhejiang), Themba Zwane (Sundowns)

Latest Gossip News via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to our website and receive notifications of Latest Gossip News via email.